2010-15 Malaysian GP Form Book


Pole: Mark Webber (Red Bull-Renault) Winner: Sebastian Vettel (Red Bull-Renault)

Qualifying was a wet and wild affair, with the Ferraris of Fernando Alonso and Felipe Massa and the McLarens of Jenson Button and Lewis Hamilton placing outside the top 15 due to their bizarre decision to remain in their garages until rain arrived. The top five consisted of Webber, Nico Rosberg, Vettel, Adrian Sutil and Nico Hulkenberg.

Vettel rocketed past Webber and Rosberg at the start and led all but two of 56 laps of the race distance. Fernando Alonso suffered a malfunctioning gear linkage issues, forcing him to manually operate the clutch. Whilst battling Button for eighth, the Spaniard’s engine blew up, leaving him two points behind team-mate Massa, who inherited the championship lead after finishing P7. Vettel’s first victory of the season also left him two points behind Massa, whilst Button’s P8 and Rosberg’s P3 left them four points adrift behind the Brazilian.


Pole: Sebastian Vettel (Red Bull-Renault) Winner: Sebastian Vettel (Red Bull-Renault)

Vettel made it two out of two in a season where he would run away with eleven race victories. The then-24 year old repeated his previous year’s dominant performance by leading all but two laps again. Jenson Button finished P2, leaving him P2 in the championship standings albeit an already mammoth 24 points adrift. Nick Heidfeld drove out of his skin to finish P3 in his Renault, whilst Webber and Massa placed P4 and P5. Alonso and Hamilton were both penalised 20 seconds for their late race encounter, dropping the Briton to P8, although the Spaniard retained P6. Kamui Kobayashi and Michael Schumacher scored their first points of the season in P7 and P9, whilst rookie Paul di Resta continued his strong start to his F1 career with a second consecutive P10.


Pole: Lewis Hamilton (McLaren-Mercedes) Winner: Fernando Alonso (Ferrari)

Qualifying saw the McLarens lock out the front row, with Schumacher elevating his Mercedes to a surprise P3.

Race day saw torrential conditions ten minutes before the start, which saw the race suspended after seven laps. The incalculable conditions and altercations with Narain Karthikeyan’s HRT led to frontrunners Button and Vettel languishing outside the top ten, paving the way for Alonso and Sergio Perez’s Sauber to fight for the victory. In a feisty, tense battle, the young Mexican proceeded to slice Alonso’s lead, but alleged team orders and an off at turn 14 on lap 50 gifted an unexpected 25 points to the Spaniard, who had low expectations due to poor testing performances of his recalcitrant F2012.


Pole: Sebastian Vettel (Red Bull-Renault) Winner: Sebastian Vettel (Red Bull-Renault)

This race was notorious for Webber’s “Multi-21” post-race comment, after Vettel disobeyed team orders. The result gifted Vettel P1 in the drivers’ standings with 40 points, placing nine points ahead of Kimi Raikkonen and fourteen points above his entrenched rival Webber.


Pole: Lewis Hamilton (Mercedes) Winner: Lewis Hamilton (Mercedes)

After Hamilton retired early with engine failure in the season’s opener in Melbourne, the Briton promptly achieved a Grand Chelem- win, pole, fastest lap and every lap lead. It left him eighteen points behind Rosberg, who lead the drivers’ standings after finishing P2. Reigning four-time WDC Vettel finished P3 in his first points finish of 2014, whilst Alonso elevated himself into P3 in the drivers’ standings with a P4 race finish.


Pole: Lewis Hamilton (Mercedes) Winner: Sebastian Vettel (Ferrari)

Vettel took a sensational first victory for his new Ferrari team, a much-needed resurgence after both suffered agonising winless seasons during 2014. The Silver Arrows struggled profusely with tyre degradation in the humid conditions, leaving both Hamilton and Rosberg requiring three pit stops, whilst Vettel only needed two. This result left Hamilton leading the WDC with 43 points, three ahead of Vettel and ten ahead of Rosberg.

FORM BOOK (2010-2015)

Bold (pole) italics (fastest lap)

Lewis Hamilton (6th / 8th / 3rd/ 3rd / 1st 2nd)

Nico Rosberg (3rd / 12th / 13th / 4th / 2nd / 3rd)

Sebastian Vettel (1st / 1st / 11th / 1st / 3rd / 1st)

Kimi Raikkonen (– / — / 5th / 7th / 12th / 4th)

Daniel Ricciardo (– / — / 12th / 18th / Ret / 10th)

Max Verstappen (– / — / — / — / — / 7th)

Felipe Massa (7th / 5th / 15th / 5th / 7th / 6th)

Valtteri Bottas (–/ — / TD / 11th / 8th / 5th)

Sergio Perez (– / Ret / 2nd / 9th / DNS / 13th)

Nico Hulkenberg (10th / TD / 9th / 8th / 5th / 14th)

Daniil Kvyat (– / — / — / — / 10th / 9th)

Carlos Sainz (– / — / — / — / — / 8th)

Kevin Magnussen (– / — / — / — / 9th / –)

Jolyon Palmer (N/A)

Marcus Ericsson (– / — / — / — / 14th / Ret)

Felipe Nasr (– / — / — / — / — / 12th)

Fernando Alonso (13th / 6th / 1st / Ret / 4th / Ret)

Jenson Button (8th / 2nd/ 14th / 17th / 6th / Ret)

Pascal Wehrlein (N/A)

Esteban Ocon (N/A)

Romain Grosjean (– / — / Ret / 6th / 11th / 11th)

Esteban Gutierrez (– / — / — / 12th / Ret / –)


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s