2006-2015 United States Grand Prix Formbook


POLE: Michael Schumacher (Ferrari)

FASTEST LAP: Michael Schumacher (Ferrari)

WINNER: Michael Schumacher (Ferrari)

After the debacle of the previous year, where all Michelin-shod cars were forced to withdraw on the grounds, leaving just six cars starting, the 2006 edition of the US Grand Prix at the renowned Indianapolis Motor Speedway was a welcome sight. However, ten cars would be eliminated due to collisions within the first ten laps and only nine cars would greet the chequered flag. Felipe Massa’s exquisite start saw him lead his venerable team-mate Michael Schumacher for the first 29 laps. The German maestro would make this race his fifth victory in seven starts at Indianapolis, an unprecedented record for the modern era. Championship rival Fernando Alonso uncharacteristically struggled in his Renault, finishing fifth and almost half a minute down on the rampant Ferraris. His much-maligned team-mate Giancarlo Fisichella rounded off the podium, whilst Jarno Trulli carried his Toyota home in fourth.


POLE: Lewis Hamilton (McLaren-Mercedes)

FASTEST LAP: Kimi Raikkonen (Ferrari)

WINNER: Lewis Hamilton (McLaren-Mercedes)

The new rising star of F1 arrived in Indianapolis brimming with confidence after his composed maiden victory in Montreal the previous week. Lewis Hamilton had been trailing his double reigning world champion team-mate Fernando Alonso in the first two qualifying sessions, but he would sensationally grab his second career pole in Q3. Robert Kubica’s harrowing crash in Montreal, leaving him concussed with an injured ankle necessitated the need for a replacement, with a fresh-faced Sebastian Vettel making his Grand Prix debut. The 19 year-old German qualified a solid seventh, just two places behind BMW Sauber team-mate Nick Heidfeld. Despite running wide at the first corner on the first lap of the race, the wily youngster finished eighth, becoming the then-youngest points scorer in F1 history before Max Verstappen usurped his record in 2015.

The race would witness a nail-biting wheel-to-wheel battle between the McLaren drivers, which had no doubt left boss Ron Dennis tethering on the edge of his seat. Controversy had already arisen in Monaco, where team-orders permitted an irate Hamilton to keep station behind Alonso to ensure maximum points for the constructors’ championship. The seasoned Spaniard attempted every trick in the book to catch the rookie Englishman unaware, but Hamilton would prevail after 73 laps with a beaming smile as he took his second victory of his blossoming career. Hamilton left Indianapolis leading Alonso by ten points and nearest non-McLaren rival and 3rd place finisher Felipe Massa by nineteen points, whose Ferrari team-mate Kimi Raikkonen was lambasted by the Italian media after finishing a mediocre fourth. The result left the taciturn Finn 26 points behind F1’s superstar rookie after just seven races, but no-one could foresee the extraordinary events that would enfold.


POLE: Sebastian Vettel (Red Bull-Renault)

FASTEST LAP: Sebastian Vettel (Red Bull-Renault)

WINNER: Lewis Hamilton (McLaren-Mercedes)

The first-ever Grand Prix to be held in Texas promised fireworks and delivered spectacularly. A cat-and-mouse chase between Vettel and Hamilton would see the German held up by a hesitant Narain Karthikeyan (HRT), allowing Hamilton to nip past Vettel on lap 42 for a popular victory. Fernando Alonso (Ferrari) finished a distant third, leaving the Spaniard thirteen points behind the Red Bull driver in the drivers’ championship going into the season finale at Interlagos.


POLE: Sebastian Vettel (Red Bull-Renault)

FASTEST LAP: Sebastian Vettel (Red Bull-Renault)

WINNER: Sebastian Vettel (Red Bull-Renault)

Sebastian Vettel set a new record for most consecutive wins in a season (eight). This is currently the last race to date to have all cars powered by Renault on the podium. Romain Grosjean impressed, leading two laps during the pit stop phase and finishing second, whilst Mark Webber finished third in the penultimate Grand Prix of his illustrious career.



POLE: Nico Rosberg (Mercedes)

FASTEST LAP: Sebastian Vettel (Red Bull-Renault)

WINNER: Lewis Hamilton (Mercedes)

In a classic 2014 race, Nico Rosberg qualified on pole, but Lewis Hamilton pulled off another startling manoeuvre on his German rival to take his tenth win of his eventual second WDC. Only 18 cars would start the race due to the dire financial situation of the soon-to-be liquidated Caterham and the struggling Marussia (now Manor Racing) teams. The result left Rosberg trailing Hamilton by 24 points with two races remaining.


POLE: Nico Rosberg (Mercedes)

FASTEST LAP: Nico Rosberg (Mercedes)

WINNER: Lewis Hamilton (Mercedes)

A topsy-turvy thriller would see Lewis Hamilton crowned world champion for a third time, but not without controversy. The Briton’s manoeuvre on his despised team-mate Rosberg was seen as pushing the boundaries of the regulations, but no penalties were applied. As the torrential conditions dried once the virtual safety car was withdrawn, the Red Bulls of Daniel Ricciardo and Daniil Kvyat overtook both Mercedes in quick succession after. The race would be hit by a high level of attrition, as only twelve cars finished. Ricciardo would later lose the lead once track conditions necessitated slicks and his collision with Nico Hulkenberg’s Force India left him limping home in tenth. After Kvyat’s crash on lap 41, Rosberg lost control of his rear tyres due to excessive wheelspin on lap 46, gifting a lead to Hamilton which he would not lose. The American crowd greeted the Englishman with rapturous appreciation and post-race/pre-podium scenes of Rosberg throwing back a cap to his embittered team-mate caused a further stir on social media. As a result of this Grand Prix, Lewis Hamilton has won four of the five United States Grands Prix (including 2007 at Indianapolis) he has partaken.

2006-15 Formbook

Bold (pole) italics (fastest lap)

DRIVER NAME ’06 / ’07 / ’12/ ’13 / ’14 / ’15

Lewis Hamilton — / 1st / 1st / 4th / 1st / 1st

Nico Rosberg 9th / 16th / 13th / 9th / 2nd / 2nd

Sebastian Vettel — / 8th / 2nd / 1st / 7th /3rd

Kimi Raikkonen RET / 4th / 6th / — / 13th / RET

Felipe Massa 2nd / 3rd / 4th / 12th / 4th / RET

Valtteri Bottas — / — / — / 8th / 5th / RET

Daniel Ricciardo — / — / 12th / 11th / 3rd / 10th

Max Verstappen — / — / — / — / TD / 4th

Nico Hulkenberg — / — / 8th / 6th / RET / RET

Sergio Perez — / — / 11th / 7th / RET / 5th

Kevin Magnussen — / — / — / — / 8th / —

Jolyon Palmer — / — / — / — / — / TD

Carlos Sainz — / — / — / — / — / 7th

Daniil Kvyat — / — / — / — / 15th / RET

Felipe Nasr — / — / — / — / — / 9th

Marcus Ericsson — / — / — / — / — / RET

Fernando Alonso 5th / 2nd / 3rd / 5th / 6th / 11th

Jenson Button RET / 12th / 5th / 10th / 12th / 6th

Pascal Wehrlein (N/A)

Esteban Ocon (N/A)

Romain Grosjean — / — / 7th / 2nd / 11th / RET

Esteban Gutierrez — / — / — / 13th / 14th / —


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s